Taste of Elegance Names Eight National Finalists

TOE 01 0609 The 20th Annual Taste of Elegance sponsored by America's Pork
Producers is holding its national culinary competition tonight at the
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace. Taste of Elegance brings chefs together from
around the country to compete in regional and national recipe competitions.
Andrew Little won the local regional competition in November as reported here. The
first regional Taste of Elegance was held in 1987.

Since its inception, the program has evolved into over thirty
regional competitions, with more than 500 chefs participating. This afternoon
the eight finalists from the 30 regional winners were announced after two days
of competition. Tonight at 6:30 p.m. the final eight will start to serve for
the final judging. Look here for the winner sometime after 8:30 p.m.

And the eight moving on to the finals tonight are:

James Abbott,
Fusions Catering, Sioux Falls SD, Thai-Style Pork

Mark Brown, The
River Club, Suwanee GA, Piedmont Pork

Joel C. Cooper,
Puck’s of the Midway, Chicago IL, Pork Loin Stuffed with Gorgonzola Dolce and
Medjoul Dates Cooked Sous Vide

Rudy Bazan Garza II,
True Flavors Culinary Planners, San Antonio TX, Burnt Orange Glazed Pork

Stephan Hesse, The
Oak Grill, Minneapolis MN, Curry Pork Belly & Coconut Panna Cotta

Robert Iannaccone,
Brookside Country Club, Macungie PA, Baby Back Confit and Truffled Stuffed Pork
Loin, Sauce Perigueux

Stephen Marshall,
Medici, Las Vegas, NV, Spiced Pork Belly, Fresh Hearts of Palm Cannelloini,
Braised Leeks and Apple Glaze

Eddie Tancredi,
Rosendales, Columbus OH, Pan Roasted White Marble Farms Pork Loin, BBQ Glazed
Pork Belly 

About the Author

Michael Birchenall is Editor and Publisher of Foodservice Monthly, a regional trade publication covering the foodservice industry of the Mid-Atlantic (DE, DC, MD, VA). Foodservice Monthly has been recognized as the Restaurant Association of Maryland's Allied Industry Member of the Year and by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington as the Joan Hisaoka Associate Member of the Year.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.