RAMW Announces 2017 RAMMY Awards Finalists

The Hamilton Live at The Hamilton was abuzz on April 3 as top industry professionals gathered to celebrate the finalists for the 2017 RAMMY Awards. The Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) will announce the winners at a black tie gala on Sunday, July 30.
Any RAMW member who met all category requirements was eligible for nomination. The selection process for the finalists, and ultimately the winners, involves two esteemed groups, the voting public and an anonymous panel of volunteer judges, consisting of food and dining journalists, educators, and foodservice industry professionals. The voting public will decide the winners in four categories: Favorite Gathering Place of the Year, Upscale Brunch of the Year, Casual Brunch of the Year, and Favorite Fast Bites of the Year. Votes for these categories can be cast online at through May 31, 2017 at 5:00 pm.
RAMW honors two additional members with the Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year, presented to an Allied member who best exemplifies commitment to and support of RAMW, and the Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award, given for dedication and leadership that has helped transform Washington’s restaurant scene into today’s vibrant restaurant industry. These awards are determined by RAMW’s executive committee. The Duke Zeibert Award recipient is announced each year in May.

2017 RAMMY Awards Finalist

Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year
Acme Paper & Supply Co.
Coastal Sunbelt Produce
DC Brau Brewing Company
USI Insurance Services
The Veritas Law Firm

Favorite Gathering Place of the Year
Brookland’s Finest Bar & Kitchen
The Front Porch at Evening Star Cafe
Lauriol Plaza
Pearl Dive Oyster Palace
Petworth Citizen & Reading Room

Upscale Brunch of the Year
Del Campo
Marcel’s by Robert Wiedmaier
The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm
The Source by Wolfgang Puck

Casual Brunch of the Year
Cava Mezze – Capitol Hill
DGS Delicatessen
Sixth Engine

Favorite Fast Bites of the Year
Cava Grill
Chase the Submarine
G by Mike Isabella
Taco Bamba Taqueria

Cocktail Program of the Year
barmini by José Andrés
Iron Gate
Kapnos by Mike Isabella

Beer Program of the Year
B Side
District Commons
Jack Rose Dining Saloon
Roofers Union

Wine Program of the Year
Charlie Palmer Steak
Doi Moi
minibar by José Andrés

Employee of the Year
Noe Alfaro, Republic
Heather Berry, Bar Pilar
Joseph Cassis, PassionFish Bethesda
David Perry, RIS
David Trezevant, Carmine’s Family Style Italian Restaurant

Manager of the Year
Julio Amador, Cork Wine Bar
Christine Gibson, Iron Gate
John Grace, The Hamilton
Matthew McQuilkin, Pizzeria Paradiso
Margaret Perry, Kyirisan

Service Program of the Year
The Bombay Club
minibar by José Andrés
The Source by Wolfgang Puck

Pastry Chef of the Year
Mollie Bird, Kyirisan
Jemil Gadea, Masseria
Tiffany MacIsaac, Buttercream Bakeshop
Brandon Malzahn, Fabio Trabocchi Restaurants
Erin Reed, Blue Duck Tavern

Rising Culinary Star of the Year
Sasha Felikson, Doi Moi
Ryan Ratino, Ripple
Miranda Rosenfelt, Sally’s Middle Name
Rob Rubba, Hazel
Piter & Handry Tjan, Kobo and Sushi

Casual Restaurant of the Year
Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen
The Daily Dish
Duke’s Grocery
Mandu,18th Street

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year
Central Michel Richard
Iron Gate
The Red Hen

New Restaurant of the Year
All Purpose

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year
Fiola Mare
minibar by José Andrés
The Source by Wolfgang Puck
Sushi Taro
Trummer’s On Main

Chef of the Year
Amy Brandwein, Centrolina
Erik Bruner-Yang, Maketto, Paper Horse
Austin Fausett, Proof
Katsuya Fukushima, Bantam King, Daikaya, and Haikan
Tarver King, The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm

Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year
Atlas Brew Works
DC Brau Brewing Company
Logan Sausage
New Columbia Distillers/Green Hat
Right Proper Brewing Company

Restaurateur of the Year
Ari Gejdenson, Mindful Restaurants
Ike Grigoropoulos, Dimitri Moshovitis, Ted Xenochristos, and Brett Schulman, Cava Group, Inc.
The Kuller Family, Fat Baby, Inc.
Jamie Leeds, JL Restaurant Group
Daisuke Utagawa, Katsuya Fukushima, and Yama Jewayni, Daikaya Group

About the Author

Foodservice Monthly is the newsmagazine foodservice professionals rely on.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.