RAMW Announces
 2013 RAMMY Nominees

Kathy Hollinger, Tarver King, Fabio Trabocchi, Cedric Maupillier, Haidar Karoum

Kathy Hollinger, Tarver King, Fabio Trabocchi, Cedric Maupillier, Haidar Karoum

Tuesday night, the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) announced the nominees for its annual RAMMY Awards. The nominations party, hosted at The Hamilton, was emceed by Kelly Collis and Tommy McFly of 94.7 FRESH FM.

The RAMMYS will be held on June 23 at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. “We’re pleased to be able to honor the individuals who work hard to provide area residents and visitors with exceptional, world-class hospitality,” said Kathy Hollinger, RAMW’s president. “Their dedication to the world and work of food and beverage adds an incredible vitality to the entire Washington Metropolitan Area. This year’s theme – ‘Restaurants in Bloom’ – acknowledges their creative contributions to the region’s burgeoning restaurant scene, and credits their talent which has earned DC recognition as a dining destination.”

Selecting the RAMMY nominees, and ultimately the winners, involves two separate panels of judges, the voting public and, for just one award – the Joan Hisaoka Associate Member of the Year – the RAMW Executive Committee. Any RAMW member is eligible for nomination as long as they meet the qualifications of any given category. The nominees are then reviewed by the appropriate anonymous panel of judges comprised of food/restaurant writers, educators and HR professionals who ultimately select the five finalists in each of the categories.

The public will decide the winners in three categories: Neighborhood Gathering Place, Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene and Power Spot of the Year. The winners in these categories are determined entirely by the public vote tallies. Votes can be cast on the Washington City Paper and finalists’ websites or at from April 4-18.

2013 RAMMY Finalists:

 Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year

The Ashby Inn & Restaurant,
Blue Duck Tavern,
The Bombay Club,

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year

Birch and Barley, Cork Wine Bar, Estadio, Jaleo – Penn Quarter, KAZ Sushi Bistro

Casual Restaurant of the Year

Bar Pilar, Bayou Bakery, C. F. Folks, Nando’s Peri-Peri, Pete’s New Haven Style Apizza

Neighborhood Gathering Place of the Year

Ardeo + Bardeo, Bastille, Evening Star Café, Nellie’s Sports Bar, Willow Restaurant

New Restaurant of the Year

Boqueria, DGS Delicatessen, Fuego Cocina y Tequileria, Mintwood Place, Rasika West End

Chef of the Year

Tony Conte – The Oval Room, Haidar Karoum – Estadio/Proof, Tarver King – The Ashby Inn and Restaurant, Cedric Maupillier – Mintwood Place, Fabio Trabocchi – Fiola

Rising Culinary Star of the Year

Scot Harlan – Green Pig Bistro, Tim Ma – Maple Avenue Restaurant, Marjorie Meek-Bradley – Ripple,
John Melfi – Blue Duck Tavern, Nathan Shapiro – The Ashby Inn and Restaurant

Pastry Chef of the Year

Beverly Bates – Woodward Table, Vidalia, Bistro Bis, Peter Brett – Blue Duck Tavern, Alison Reed – Ripple, Susan Wallace – BlackSalt Fish Market & Restaurant, Tom Wellings – Fiola

Wine Program of the Year

Adour, The Ashby Inn and Restaurant, Dino, Marcel’s, Ripple

Beverage/Mixology Program of the Year

Birch & Barley/Churchkey, Bourbon Steak, EatGoodFood Group, Rasika, Room 11

Power Spot of the Year

The Bombay Club, Johnny’s Half Shell, P. J. Clarke’s, Seasons, The Source by Wolfgang Puck

Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene of the Year

Bar Pilar, Fiola, Fuego Cocina y Tequileria, Hank’s Oyster Bar – Capitol Hill, Jack Rose Dining Saloon

Manager of the Year

Joseph Cerione – Blue Duck Tavern, Justin Guthrie – Estadio, Alex Muñoz – Hill Country Barbecue Market, Michael Nevarez – Vidalia/Bistro Bis/Woodward Table, Tyes Zolman – Black Restaurant Group

Employee of the Year

Helene Jones – Poste Moderne Brasserie, Lauren Lowe – DC Coast, Luis Noriega – Zengo, Ali Schemeck – Chef Geoff’s, New Mexico Ave., Elizabeth Zelaya – Fiola

Restaurateur of the Year

José Andrés & Rob Wilder – THINKFoodGROUP, Meshelle and Cathal Armstrong – EatGoodFood Group, Michael Babin – Neighborhood Restaurant Group, Ashok Bajaj – Knightsbridge Restaurant Group, Drew Kim, Mark Neal and Ty Neal matchbox Food Group

Joan Hisaoka Associate Member of the Year

Acme Paper & Supply Co., BB&T, Eagle Bank, SYSCO Food Services of Baltimore, Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

For more information about The RAMMYS go to, or contact RAMW at 202-331-5990 or email at

About the Author

Foodservice Monthly is the newsmagazine foodservice professionals rely on.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.