RAM Celebrates Stars of the Industry at 60th Gala

Ocean City once again represented their hospitality community well at the 60th RAM Stars of the Industry Gala.

Ocean City once again represented their hospitality community well at the 60th RAM Stars of the Industry Gala.

After three weeks of online voting, the Restaurant Association of Maryland announced its industry awards at the 60th Annual Stars of the Industry Awards celebrating Maryland’s most elite restaurants and hospitality professionals.

With over 600 industry guests in attendance the Away at the Bay Awards Gala was held at the Hyatt Chesapeake in Cambridge, Md. on Sunday April 6.

“The Gala is our opportunity to honor and give recognition to elite restaurants across the state.  We are fortunate to have such a diverse group of restaurants to choose from who are dedicated to their customers, their community and their employees,” said Marshall Weston, President and CEO of the Restaurant Association of Maryland.

Weston also introduced an unexpected recognition of the state’s restaurant staff members with the inaugural The Heart of the Industry award sponsored by Payce Payroll. The winners were Amanda Taylor, Horizons Restaurant in the Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, and Ron Barnette, Miss Shirley’s Café.

Two of the top awards went to Ocean City hospitalians Tammy Patrick-Cebula, Galaxy 66 Bar & Grille and Skye Bar, for Restaurateur of the Year and Travis Wright, The Shark for Chef of the Year.

Recipients of the McCormick Cornerstone of the Industry awards were Carter Barbeque & Grilling Company, Mount Airy; Galway Bay Irish Pub, Annapolis; Glory Days Grill and Rams Head Tavern, Annapolis.

ProStart Teacher of the year honors went to Faith Kling, Edmondson-Westside High School. Mimmo Cricchio Jr. presented the ProStart Student of the Year award and the Chef Mimmo Cricchio Scholarship to Adrian Stewart from Bowie High School.

Other top awards given by the Association included:

Eddie Dopkin’s First Course Award, Honoring Entrepreneurship in Hospitality:

Sandra Maye, Stratford University

Brice & Shirley Phillips Lifetime Industry Achievement Award:

Fred Lankford – Sysco Eastern Maryland

The Otto Schellhase Award:

Jeff Owens – Clyde’s Restaurant Group

Hospitality Hall of Honor:

•             The Middleton Tavern, Annapolis

•             Cantler’s Riverside Inn, Annapolis

•             Cracker Barrel

•             BJ’s on the Water, Ocean City

•             Bayside Skillet – The Crepe & Omelette Place, Ocean City

•             Kelsey’s, Ellicott City

The following restaurants and restaurateurs were nominated as the top finalists in each category. The winners are noted:

Chef of the Year:

•             Michael Matassa – Alchemy, Baltimore

•             Jordan Lloyd – Bartlett Pear Inn, Easton

•             Jean-Louis Evennou – Café Normandie, Annapolis

•             Brigitte Bledsoe – Miss Shirley’s Café, Annapolis and Baltimore

•             Travis Wright – The Shark on the Harbor, Ocean City          (WINNER)

Favorite Restaurant:

•             Galway Bay, Annapolis

•            Birroteca Craft Beer, Wine & Artisan Pizza, Baltimore       (WiNNER)

•             Victoria Gastro Pub, Columbia

•             8407 kitchen bar, Silver Spring

•             Carolina Kitchen, Largo

•             Linwoods, Owings Mills

Favorite New Restaurant:

•             Ouzo Bay Greek Kouzina, Baltimore

•             Madrones, Frederick

•             Maggie’s Farm, Baltimore

•             Grille 620, Ellicott City (WINNER)

•             De’ Soul Café, Brandywine

Wine and Beverage Program of the Year:

•             Liquid Lib’s, Timonium

•             Quench, Rockville (WINNER)

•             Vineyard Wine Bar, Havre de Grace

•             Lewnes’ Steakhouse, Annapolis

•             the Wine Kitchen, Frederick

Craft Brew Program of the Year:

•             Frisco Taphouse & Brewery, Columbia

•             T-bonz Grille & Taphouse, Ellicott City

•             Fager’s Island, Ocean City (WINNER)

•             Franklins Brewery, Hyattsville

•             Pratt Street Ale House, Baltimore

Favorite Bar or Tavern:

•             Seacrets, Ocean City

•             Nottingham’s – A Distinctive Tavern, Columbia

•             Jimmy’s Famous Seafood, Baltimore

•             Brew River, Salisbury (WINNER)

•             The Greene Turtle Sports Bar and Grille

Allied Member of the Year:

•             Kristen Cavey – RPM Solutions Group

•             Josh Lagersen – Broadcast Music Inc.

•             Gene Myers – F.P. Winner Ltd.

•             Tim Sughrue – Congressional Seafood

•             Vinnie Rege – Howard Community College (WINNER)

Restaurateur of the Year:

•             Joe Barbera – AIDA Bistro & Wine Bar, Columbia

•             Brian Boston – Milton Inn and Highland Inn, Sparks and Highland

•             Wendy Binder/Declan Wood – Second Chance Saloon, Columbia

•             Steve Newton – Mission BBQ

•             Tammy Patrick Cebula – Galaxy 66 Bar & Grille, Ocean City  (WINNER)

About the Author

Michael Birchenall is Editor and Publisher of Foodservice Monthly, a regional trade publication covering the foodservice industry of the Mid-Atlantic (DE, DC, MD, VA). Foodservice Monthly has been recognized as the Restaurant Association of Maryland's Allied Industry Member of the Year and by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington as the Joan Hisaoka Associate Member of the Year.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.