Nominations Now Open for the 2018 RAMMY Awards

The Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) is pleased to announce The 36th Annual RAMMY Awards! The Awards Gala will take place on Sunday, June 10, once again in D.C.’s Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Online award nominations are open through Sunday, January 14, kicking off a full season that celebrates the region’s outstanding restaurants. The RAMMY Awards Gala will highlight the exceptional ability and accomplishments of the hard-working individuals and organizations of the region’s restaurants and foodservice community.
RAMW is currently accepting submissions in 20 award categories, including the Honorary Milestone RAMMY Award. Not given every year, this award honors long-standing local restaurants and RAMW members who have been in business for at least 25 years and are considered the Washington region’s most influential or beloved dining institutions. Past honorees have included Occidental (2016), Clyde’s Restaurant Group (2013), Tune Inn (2012), The Monocle Restaurant (2010), Billy Martin’s Tavern (2009), and Ben’s Chili Bowl (2008).
The Regional Food and Beverage Producer category will also be voted on once again by the RAMW restaurant membership, for the second year running. It celebrates the producers and artisans who work so hard to provide incredible ingredients for the industry to utilize.
To nominate an outstanding operator or professional in the area’s restaurant industry, visit the RAMMYS nominations portal at through midnight, the evening of Sunday, January 14. Only RAMW members are eligible to become finalists. The selection process for nominees and winners involves two esteemed groups — the voting public and an anonymous panel of volunteer judges, consisting of food and dining journalists, educators, and foodservice industry professionals. Finalists in 20 categories will be announced at a special event in March.
In addition to those eligible for online nominations, RAMW honors two additional members with the Joan Hisaoka Associate Member of the Year, presented to an allied member who best exemplifies commitment to and support of RAMW, and the Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award, given for dedication and leadership that has helped transform Washington’s restaurant scene into today’s vibrant restaurant industry. These awards are determined by RAMW’s Executive Committee.

Soooo, mark your calendars!
The RAMMYS celebrate so much. Don’t miss this chance to be part of the one night of the year when the region’s restaurateurs, chefs, sommeliers, bartenders, sous chefs, and more come together with industry colleagues, elected officials, and members of the media to toast to a superb year of dining. And, for 2018, we will be announcing exciting opportunities to get involved or be part of creative sponsorships as The RAMMYS explore art, design, and music and the roles they play in restaurants.
For more information on The 36th Annual RAMMY Awards and sponsorship opportunities, email or call 202-331-5990.

ASSOCIATION NEWS – RAMW | Kathy E. Hollinger
KATHY HOLLINGER is the executive director of the Restaurant Association of Metropolitian Washington.

About the Author

Foodservice Monthly is the newsmagazine foodservice professionals rely on.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.