Fiola Named Washington’s Top Resto at 2014 RAMMYS

Geoff Tracy, Lynne Breaux, David Moran

Geoff Tracy, Lynne Breaux, David Moran

Fiola da Fabio Trabocchi was named the Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year at the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington’s (RAMW) 2014 32nd RAMMY Awards gala. The evening, with over 1,800 in attendance, celebrated the outstanding achievements and excellence in the Metropolitan Washington restaurant industry. Held at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, the gala was a nonstop celebration of chefs, restaurateurs, managers, employees and and key restaurant industry players and supporters. Complementing the power of the nation’s capital food scene was the international presence of the embassies and trade commissions of Peru, Chile, Argentina and Australia featuring wines, beverages and foods of their countries.

2014 Chef of they Year went to Haidar Karoum of Doi Moi, Estadio and Proof and Michael Babin of the Neighborhood Restaurant Group was named Restaurateur of the Year. The Red Hen took honors as Best New Restaurant.

Announced earlier, RAMW awarded the Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award to former RAMW President Lynne Breaux. In her acceptance before the overflow room of attendees, Breaux gave a special mention to Foodservice Monthly editor Michael Birchenall for his support of her 11 years as head of RAMW.

Among the 20 award winners were two of Foodservice Monthly’s favorite awards that go each year to the Manager of the Year and the Employee of the Year. For 2014 the honors went to: Manager Boo Young Kim of the District Commons and Server Stelios Alexandris of 1789 Restaurant.

ProFish won the prestigious Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year Award which Foodservice Monthly received in 2008.

The Complete 2014 RAMMY Award Winners:

Formal Fine Dining


Upscale Casual


Everyday Casual

Toki Underground

New Restaurant

The Red Hen

Chef of the Year

Haidar Karoum  – Doi Moi, Estadio, Proof

Rising Culinary Star

Michael Friedman, The Red Hen

Pastry Chef

Caitlin Dysart, 2941

Wine Program of the Year


Cocktail Program of the Year

Jack Rose Dining Saloon

Beer Program of the Year

Birch and Barley/ChurchKey

Service Program of the Year

Blue Duck Tavern

Restaurateur of the Year

Michael Babin – Neighborhood Restaurant Group

Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year

Red Apron Butcher

Everyday Casual Brunch

Pearl Dive Oyster Palace

Favorite Fast Bites

Amsterdam Falafelshop

Favorite Gathering Place

Hank’s Oyster Bar Dupont

Upscale Casual Brunch

Mintwood Place

Manager of the Year

Boo Young Kim – District Commons

Employee of the Year

Stelios Alexandris – 1789 Restaurant

Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year

Profish, Ltd.

Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award

Lynne Breaux 

Presented by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW), The RAMMY Awards Gala honors the exceptional ability and accomplishments of the hard-working individuals and organizations of the region’s restaurants and foodservice community. Named the #1 Food & Restaurant event by BIZBASH Magazine for four consecutive years, The RAMMYS celebrate one of Metropolitan Washington’s greatest assets: its restaurants.

About the Author

Michael Birchenall is Editor and Publisher of Foodservice Monthly, a regional trade publication covering the foodservice industry of the Mid-Atlantic (DE, DC, MD, VA). Foodservice Monthly has been recognized as the Restaurant Association of Maryland's Allied Industry Member of the Year and by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington as the Joan Hisaoka Associate Member of the Year.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.